SARPA Logo
   
   Home    Aims & Objectives    Meetings    Join SARPA    Contact Us    Newsletter   Archive    Arriva Trains Wales      Links    

Links Page - Other organisations of interest to rail users in Mid Wales.

Please note that inclusion on SARPA's website does not mean we endorse or support the organisation its aims, policies or practices. Nor is it meant to be an exhaustive list. If planning to visit any of the venues or places listed here, it is your responsibility to check whether the rail service is suitable for your needs

We try and keep this page as up to date as possible but if you experience any broken links or other problems, we would consider it helpful if you could let us know.

                        Rail Related Sites      Local & Government Organisations      Venues & Places of Interest    
 Interchange at Dovey Junction

A link we'd all like to see happening more often; cross platform interchange at Dovey Junction between Coast Line trains and Aberystwyth services. A train for Pwllheli arrives whilst a Shrewsbury bound service waits in the loop.

Photo:- Denis Bates


Rail Related Sites

Arriva Trains Wales www.arrivatrainswales.co.uk Official website of Cambrian Line Operator
   
Accessible UK Train Timetables http://traintimes.org.ukUse this site to plan your journey
   
Passenger Focus www.passengerfocus.org.ukThe new UK Rail Passengers' watchdog
   
ACORP www.acorp.uk.comA UK-wide association of community rail partnerships
   
Network Rail www.networkrail.co.uk/Owner & Operator of Britain's Railway Infrastructure
   
British Transport Police www.btp.police.uk/The National Police Force for the Railways
   
Traws Link Cymru www.trawslinkcymru.org.uk/Campaign to reopen the Aberystwyth - Carmarthen railway
   
Rail Future www.railfuture.org.ukIndependent Campaign Group for Rail Improvments
   
Department for Transport (DfT) www.dft.gov.uk/Link to Rail Page of the UK Goverment Transport Department
   
Campaign for Better Transport www.bettertransport.org.ukOrganisation formerly known as Transport 2000
   
Cambrian Rail Partnership www.thecambrianline.co.ukGives details for days out using the Aberystwyth line
   
Carno Station Action Group www.carnostation.org.ukThe Campaign to Reopen Carno Station
   
The Man in Seat 61 www.seat61.comComprehensive site for rail journeys to Europe & beyond
   
Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway www.wllr.org.ukSteam Trains from Welshpool through the foothills of Wales.
   
Cambrian Railways Society www.cambrian-railways-soc.co.ukOswestry Rail Centre & Museum.
   
Vale of Rheidol Railway www.rheidolrailway.co.ukNarrow gauge steam trains from Aberystwyth to Devil's Bridge
   
Centro www.centro.org.ukLocal train & bus information for the West Midlands
   
London Midland www.londonmidland.comTrain operator for services around the Midland Counties
   
Virgin Trains www.virgintrains.co.ukOperator of West Coast Main Line and also Cross Country routes.
   
Chiltern Railways www.chilternrailways.co.ukOperator of alternative route from London to Birmingham.
   
ORR Station Usage Statistics http://tinyurl.com/ktzbdwyOffice of Rail & Road, Station Usage Information
   
Camden Books www.camdenmin.co.ukBookseller with amazing selection of technical & railway publications.
   
The Ultimate Steam Page www.trainweb.org/tusp/Wide ranging steam traction website.
   
Severn Valley Railway www.svr.co.ukHome of much heritage steam traction from the Cambrian lines.
   
Christian Wolmar http://christianwolmar.co.ukArchive of articles on this rail commentator's website
   
North Wales Coast Railway Homepage www.nwrail.org.uk/Railfans' and Travellers Guide to North Wales Coast Line
   
Mid Wales Model Engineers www.midwalesmes.org.uk Model engineering society in Newtown
   



Back to Top

Local and Government Organisations

   
Powys County Council www.powys.gov.uk/Local Authority for Welshpool, Newtown, Caersws, Machynlleth
   
Aberystwyth http://www.aberystwythguide.org.ukA good independent site about Aberystwyth
   
Ceredigion www.ceredigion.gov.ukLocal Authority for Aberystwyth & Borth
   
Shopshire Council www.shropshire.gov.ukLocal Authority for Shropshire
   
Powys Tourist Board www.tourism.powys.gov.ukTourist information for Mid Wales.
   
Welsh Assembly www.wales.gov.ukHomepage for Welsh Assembly Website
   
National Express West Midlands http://nxbus.co.uk/west-midlandsMore Bus information for the Birmingham area.
   
Welshpool Partnership www.welshpool.orgCommunity development organisation for Welshpool.
   
Ecodyfi Partnership www.ecodyfi.org.ukLocal regeneration organisation for the Dyfi Valley in Mid Wales.
   
Birmingham City Council www.birmingham.gov.ukLocal Authority for Birmingham.
   
Department for Transport www.dft.gov.ukHomepage of Department for Transport, roads and all!
   


Back to Top

Venues & Places of Interest

   
Aberystwyth Arts Centre www.aberystwythartscentre.co.uk   Main arts venue in Aberystwyth.
   
Tabernacle Arts Centre, Machynlleth www.momawales.org.uk   Dynamic arts venue based in Machynlleth
   
Centre for Alternative Technology (CAT) www.cat.org.uk   Solutions to serious environmental challenges.
   
Theatr Hafren www.theatrhafren.co.uk   Theatre for Mid Wales in Newtown
   
Old Market Hall www.oldmarkethall.co.uk   Cinema & digital media centre in Shrewsbury.
   
Angus Eickhoff http://anguseickhoff.co.uk   The compiler of this site doing his day job!
   
The Bull Ring www.bullring.co.uk   Glamorous new shopping centre in Birmingham.
   
Birmingham Airport http://www.birminghamairport.co.uk   Mid Wales'gateway to the World
   
National Exhibition Centre www.thenec.co.uk/   Final destination for trains from the Cambrian
   
Ikon Gallery www.ikon-gallery.co.uk   Leading contemporary art gallery in central Birmingham.
   
Vivid Projects www.vividprojects.org.uk/   Venue for media based arts in Birmingham.
   
Midland Arts Centre www.macarts.co.uk/   Extensive Arts Centre in Canon Hill Park, Birmingham.
   
Birmingham Museums & Art Gallery www.bmag.org.uk/   Birmingham Museums & Art Gallery homepage.
   
Black Country Living Museum www.bclm.co.uk   Open air museum of Black Country life.
   
Ironbridge Gorge Museum www.ironbridge.org.uk   Open air museum of the industrial revolution
   
Thinktank www.thinktank.ac/   Birmingham's new science museum.
   
Barber Intstitue of Fine Arts www.barber.org.uk   Art gallery adjacent to Birmingham University.
   
Powis Castle, National Trust www.nationaltrust.org.uk   National Trust Property with celebrated gardens at Welshpool.
   
Red Box Internet www.redboxinternet.com   Our webhosts.


Back to Top


Shrewsbury to Aberystwyth Rail Passengers Association (SARPA)
   c/o Newtown Station Travel   The Railway Station  Old Kerry Road  Newtown,  Powys,  SY16 1BP  Wales,  United Kingdom
© SARPA 2005-2017
All Rights Reserved
Website:- Angus Eickhoff